The Snoqualmie Valley Historical Museum, serving Fall City, Preston, Snoqualmie, North Bend, Cedar Falls and Snoqualmie Pass for nearly 50 years, came into being as the result of the initial work of one woman, Ada Snyder Hill. She came into the Valley in 1910 to teach school and early on began collecting the historic items that made up the exhibit she arranged for the 1939 celebration of the platting of North Bend. They were the nucleus for the present day collection that includes cherished artifacts and anecdotes from all corners of the Snoqualmie Valley.
The first home for the artifacts was a room in the North Bend High School where Mrs. Hill was a teacher. There, for nearly the next decade, she continued to add items as they were donated and, without help, catalogued them, arranged the displays and took visitors on tours.
The collection has since grown and was moved to a larger building. It is presently housed at 320 Bendigo Blvd S in North Bend in the Gardiner Weeks Memorial Park. The collection includes the ledger from the Meadowbrook Hotel, William Taylor’s hat and gun, the Fall City Study Club scrapbooks and memorabilia; among many amazing photographs and artifacts. A visit will give you a unique prospective on the evolving Snoqualmie Valley history.